ASE Certification

What is ASE certification?

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)  is a volunteer certification organization that repair shops participate in to give the public an idea that they know what they’re doing…. not a bad idea.

Along with a 2-year work experience requirement, there are eight different categories of tests that ASE offers automotive technicians. A tech is certified by passing just one. You have to pass all eight categories to be certified as a “Master Auto Technician”

  • A1 Engine Repair
  • A2 Automatic Transmission/Transaxle
  • A3 Manual Drive Train and Axles
  • A4 Suspension and Steering
  • A5 Brakes
  • A6 Electrical/Electronic Systems
  • A7 Heating and Air Conditioning
  • A8 Engine Performance
  • A9 Light Vehicle Diesel Engines

There is also a certification for advanced engine performance, which deals with computerized engine controls, etc.  Few technicians obtain this certification, and many take the test several times to pass it.

It only takes one technician certified in one area in order for a shop to be allowed to hang the ASE shingle out front. Of course, certification is no guarantee the technician will be careful and do the job right, but at least it tells you he knows enough to pass a test about different areas.

Consider also, is the shop itself qualified?

There are volumes of technical data that must be on hand to diagnose and repair modern fuel, electrical, and ignition systems. Does the shop have the reference material and diagnostic equipment to tackle today’s “high-tech” vehicles and do the job right?

At CarScope, we are committed to keeping up with the technology and doing the best job we can for you and your family. And, of course, all our technicians are ASE certified.

This page was last edited on by CarScope Repair & Diagnosis.